Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Rm96
Level 1

Expat taxes, student scholarship

I am a PhD student in South Africa. I am US citizen but have not lived there since I was a baby. In South Africa my scholarship for my PhD studies is non-taxable, but how do I find out if I have to file taxes in the US for this scholarship? 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DanielV01
Expert Alumni

In general, US citizens and resident aliens must file tax returns to the United States on their worldwide income, unless their income does not reach the filing threshold.  In your case, even if your income does not reach the filing threshold, as long as you have a Social Security Number, you will want to file to receive the stimulus payment that was issued.

In general, scholarship "income" is not taxable nor reportable when used for qualified education expenses (typically tuition, applicable fees and required materials) towards an accredited college or university.  Guidance as to whether or not the university you are attending being accredited can be found here.  Scholarship above and beyond those necessary education expenses can be considered taxable in the United States.