Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

ChristinaTax
Returning Member

Expat foreign bank fund stocks reporting and taxation

I am a permanent resident of Sweden and a U.S. citizen. I qualify for the foreign tax exclusion. I would like to open a fund stock account with my bank. Would I have to report that every year to the IRS? What category does it fall under on the f bar? The account would pay taxes to Sweden every year directly. Would I also have to pay taxes to the U.S. on it every year? I would be new to stocks and don’t know if I’m buying or selling myself yet. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
SusanY1
Expert Alumni

If you open a stock fund account with your Swedish bank, you would need to report some elements each year such as dividends paid, interest paid, and then any sales of the assets and the capital gains on them (or losses). 

You may also be subject to requirements to file Form 8621 which relates to Passive Foreign Investment Companies ("PFIC"s).  That form requires professional assistance for most taxpayers, but you won't be required to file it if your assets in PFICs is less than $25,000 (or $50,000 if you file a joint return with your spouse.)   Some investments in PFICs are subject to fairly punitive tax, particularly if the reporting isn't managed from the beginning.