Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Combine real estate agent business and rental property business for QBI purpose

Hi, I'm a real estate professional (has a license, filing as sole proprietor), helping people purchasing/selling houses.  I also own several rental properties. The rental properties are treated as one enterprise and satisfy QBI safe harbor. 

For QBI purpose, can I combine them to one aggregated business? I see aggregating them is better for tax purposes. 

However, I'm uncertain how to interpret the following rule:

1. All trades or businesses meet at least two of these conditions:
    • They provide products, property, or services that are the same or are customarily offered together.
    • They share facilities or significant centralized business elements such as personnel, accounting, legal, manufacturing, purchasing, human resources, or information technology resources.
    • They're operated in coordination with, or reliance upon, one or more of the businesses in the aggregated group.

Since to qualify a real estate professional, I may combine the real estate business with the rental business, I would assume that I can combine them. But I'm not sure whether the house purchase/sell and rental businesses are offered together or operated in coordination with each other. I often use my rental experience to advice real estate customers to purchase/sell houses, and I purchase/sell my rental houses myself. Does that count? 

If so, how should I answer the following questions?

If you indicate in TurboTax that your business is aggregated with your other businesses, we'll ask you to enter:

1. A description of the combined businesses and the IRS rules that allow these businesses to be combined for QBI purposes; and