turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

AmpFL

Clergy Gift and 1099-MISC

Hi I'm a pastor that received a W-2 for 2016 and pay quarterly taxes. I received a Christmas gift of $1,050 and then got a 1099-MISC. Can I file this under personal or does it have to be business? I have no business expenses to help defer the tax for this as it was a gift. All my regular expenses I enter under employment section of personal.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

The church should have included that in box 1 of your W-2.  Ask them to cancel the 1099-MISC and issue a corrected W-2.

If they won't, then you need to report in as self-employment income on schedule C so that the correct self employment tax is calculated.  Use employment code 813000.

Note that turbotax expects your W-2 to have boxes 3-6 blank.  Then you check the box for religious wages on the special circumstances page.  If your W-2 looks different, the church may not be paying you as clergy and Turbotax won't compute the correct tax without manual corrections.

This is a good resource. http://www.ecfa.org/PDF/2016-Preparing-Tax-Returns-For-Clergy.pdf

View solution in original post

2 Replies

The church should have included that in box 1 of your W-2.  Ask them to cancel the 1099-MISC and issue a corrected W-2.

If they won't, then you need to report in as self-employment income on schedule C so that the correct self employment tax is calculated.  Use employment code 813000.