Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Can’t find Form 1116 Worksheet

This is my first year using TurboTax; this year, I used a CPA and am doing TurboTax parallel to see if I can rely on just TurboTax in the future. One difference I can’t resolve: I have several years of foreign tax credit overs (according to the CPA prepared return, as well as my prior year returns), but I don’t have one from last year. I can’t find a place to enter those prior year carryovers, and as a result, the foreign tax credit TurboTax calculates for this year is LESS than what the CPA calculates. I found an answer to a similar question in the “community” which said to enter prior year carryover amounts on the Form 1116 Worksheet  — but I can’t find that in “Forms” for the life of me!! Can someone please help?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

You can enter the foreign tax credit carryovers in the Step-by-Step interview. Go to:

• Federal Taxes
  • Deductions & Credits
  • Estimates and Other Taxes Paid
  • Foreign Taxes

OR

In the Search box type "foreign taxes" (without the quotes), then click the link that says "Jump to foreign taxes."

On the screen that says "Tell Us About Your Foreign Taxes," DO NOT check the box that says you have no carryovers. After some questions about the foreign tax credit for the current year you will come to a screen that asks if you have any carryovers. If you click Yes, the next screen will give you a place to enter the carryovers, year by year.