turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

ndfl
Returning Member

Can I use Turbotax to file non-resident returns for previous years? I may need to file for California business income.

I've been freelancing from outside of California for many years. I just learned that California considers revenue from California businesses to be taxable income. Most freelancers have no idea about this rule. I'm wondering if I can use Turbotax to file previous year returns or what the best route is to resolve this issue. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

Can I use Turbotax to file non-resident returns for previous years? I may need to file for California business income.

You are probably better off getting the forms from the FTB web site and preparing them manually.

See https://www.ftb.ca.gov/file/ways-to-file/index.html

You cannot prepare prior year returns with TurboTax online.

View solution in original post

4 Replies

You are probably better off getting the forms from the FTB web site and preparing them manually.

See https://www.ftb.ca.gov/file/ways-to-file/index.html

You cannot prepare prior year returns with TurboTax online.