Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

htennek2k
Returning Member

Can I file as married filing jointly? F1 student just turned resident for tax purposes (4+ years in USA), while my wife has been here only for 2.5 years.

Hi, I need some advise and support, since this didn't happen last year, and I had no idea this year would be totally different.

I'm a foreign PhD student under F1 visa in Illinois. Last year I used Sprintax service, which is provided by my school for a subsidized fee to file taxes. I already used it for filling 2017 and 2016 years with no problem whatsoever.

This year however, Sprintax reported to me that I no longer qualify as a non-resident alien since I have already passed the test of presence SPT. Sprintax suggested me to come and use TurboTax, which I plan to use in the Deluxe version or whatever is necessary to go over this.

Some background: I got my masters in USA from Fall2009-Spring2011 under J1 visa. Then, I returned to my home country for five years (and got married there). I returned to USA with my wife for my PhD, which started in the Fall semester of 2016. We both arrived together. She is under F2 visa.

We both have campus health insurance: I have it as an F1 student, and she is added to my plan as my F2 dependent. We have no children.

Since this year I will use TurboTax (as suggested by Sprintax), I wanna know how to do it, since the following facts bring me lots of doubts:

1. I am an F1 student, who already qualified as resident for tax purposes, since already passed the test of presence STP for being in the USA for few years (about two years under J1 for my master) and 2.5 years (currently) under F1 visa for my PhD.

2. My wife has been here only for 2.5 years: since the beginning of my PhD in 2016. She has no income at all because she doesn't work, she has F2 visa.