turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

philcat1

Can anyone tell me if I that I could deduct my car interest?. I am a uber driver and the car is used mostly for work.?

I saw a place to deduct this can anyone tell me where it is?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

Can anyone tell me if I that I could deduct my car interest?. I am a uber driver and the car is used mostly for work.?

If you're actually using TurboTax Self-Employed, you'll have to go through the business section reporting your income and expenses in that section (Schedule C).

Included therein, is Business Vehicle Expense where you will enter the costs for your car.

Chickeetaz
Returning Member

As shown by previous answer, this is correct: 

If you're actually using TurboTax Self-Employed, you'll have to go through the business section reporting your income and expenses in that section (Schedule C).

Included therein, is Business Vehicle Expense where you will enter the costs for your car.

I just wanted to add that you also see if you can get a larger deduction with this option "Yes, I'd like to see if my actual expenses give me a higher deduction" .

Good luck.

yes, but...

You can use the standard mileage method.  This is 65.5 cents per mile (for now) and includes all car expenses--fuel, repairs, maintenance, tires, insurance, and depreciation (which is an allowance for wear and tear based on the purchase price).   The only extras you can add to the standard mileage rate are parking and tolls.  You need a mileage diary showing the date, purpose, and mileage of each business trip.