Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

kob2

Business Vehicle (Gain/Loss & Depreciation Equivalent)

I have a few questions related to a business vehicle. I am a delivery driver and used a vehicle for business for tax years 2020, 2021 and 2022. In 2022, my vehicle had major mechanical repairs (new battery & water pump) but it did not fix the vehicle and it became inoperable and I sold it for a junk car in August 2022. The vehicle was originally $21,000 when first purchased and sold it for $450. My business use for the vehicle was 71.39% for 2022.  I did not trade the vehicle, but see there are questions regarding gain or loss basis on a trade. I assume I leave these questions blank on basis for gain/loss and AMT gain/loss?

I used the actual expense method for depreciation deductions each year in use - 2020 tax year using S/L-HY calculation method for an special depreciation allowance of $6488 and 2021 tax year using DB200HY calculation method for current depreciation of $4904. Turbotax is asking for prior depreciation for all years including 2022. Since I used the actual expense method, I should add up my depreciation deductions for tax years 2020, 2021 and 2022 (assuming for 2022, I use the same DB200HY calculation method to get that depreciation deduction which would be $5,997) for the depreciation equivalent? What about for the AMT depreciation equivalent?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

Did you ever get this figured out? I'm running into the same question

PatriciaV
Expert Alumni