Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Audit Risk Question "Your are a real estate professional and earned wages on a W-2"

I have a full time job and work parttime as a real estate agent. I receive a w2 from my job and a 1099 for my commissions. I have been doing both for many years and never received this error. Is there something I clicked that is generating this ?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
evelynm
Employee Tax Expert

Audit Risk Question "Your are a real estate professional and earned wages on a W-2"

Mark - be sure to check on your Schedule C questions - specifically about the main source of income - if that is checked you need to remove that as your W-2 wages are your primary source of income.   Hope this helps.

Have an amazing day. Evelyn M (CPA 20+ years)
I would love a thumbs up 🙂 + Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

5 Replies
evelynm
Employee Tax Expert

Hello Mark:

You should be fine - you simply file your W-2 wages and your Schedule C for your real estate business.    You may have had this prompt come up due to individuals who may have been trying to not report income correctly - and trying to take business expenses to offset income earned as an employee.

Here is a link for further information:  https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tips/self-employment-taxes/reporting-self-employment-business-income... 

I would love a thumbs up 🙂 + Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
marctu
Employee Tax Expert

@Mark818 thank you for the question.  I think we need some background here.