Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Amazon Vine received less than $600, other circumstances

I'm a more recent viner and I'm incredibly confused with how to file what I received from Vine in 2023. I'm a graduate student who receives no financial compensation for her work (and I haven't earned money since mid 2022) but I got an offer to join Vine in summer of 2023. The taxable amount that I have from Vine in 2023 is $576.59. Given that this is less than $600, no 1099-NEC was generated by Amazon. I've tried to do a lot of research through the IRS website and turbotax forums on how I should file in this situation but I'm really not sure what to do/how to proceed and would appreciate any advice. Like I really didn't receive any income at all besides what I got from Vine, which I personally think is questionable as income. Regardless of my own personal interpretations, I would appreciate any guidance on what to do next as the whole hobby vs. self-employment, 1099 vs. 1040 is really confusing me. You can tell that I'm not in graduate school for business lol.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
SusanY1
Expert Alumni

Amazon Vine received less than $600, other circumstances

Generally, income from Vine is considered to be self-employment income.  This is because you are given an item of value in exchange for a service (the review that you write).  

Typically, taxpayers with net earnings from self-employment that exceeds $400 must file a tax return and pay self-employment tax.  

Vine income doesn't have a lot of opportunity to claim expenses against it, but it does have some.  For example you could deduct things such as: