Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

2 questions about the Foreign Tax Credit

Hello! 

This is my first time trying to file with the Foreign Tax Credit (FTC).  We’re Married Filing Jointly (MFJ), and we live outside of the US.  The FTC is more advantageous for us than the Foreign Earned Income Exclusion (FEIE) because the FTC allows us to use credits for children and childcare expenses, which wouldn’t be possible if we used the FEIE instead of the FTC.

Most of our foreign income – about 75,000 USD – is from wages in the country where we live, which we’ll call Country 1.  We also have a tiny bit of interest (about 13 USD) from a bank account in Country 2; Country 2 did not withhold any tax on that interest.  And finally, we have about 10,000 USD in dividends and capital gains from US sources.  Country 1, where we live, has taxed all our worldwide income, and the amount of foreign tax is about 1,700 USD.

So, to summarize:

• Of our 85,013 USD in income, 75,013 USD is foreign income, and 10,000 USD is US income.
  • Of the 75,013 USD in foreign income, 75,000 USD is wages from Country 1, and 13 USD is interest from Country 2.
  • In Country 1, we’ve accrued 1,700 USD on our worldwide income of 85,013 USD.  No taxes are due in Country 2.

I have two questions.