Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts Retirement/Life Events! >> Event happening TOMORROW!!!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Alam12345
Returning Member

1042-S from NJ Fellowship - not taxable in state but turbotax registers it as taxable income

Hi,

I am an F1 PhD student who has been in the US for 5 years. This year, I am a tax resident and filing through turbotax. In 2022, I received a 1042-S for an academic fellowship in New Jersey. This income in not taxable in NJ (Exception code 15 on my 1042-S), but it is taxable federally. According to the instructions in here, I added this income under "Other reportable income" and the federal tax paid under "Withholding not already entered on a W-2 or 1099."

When my information is automatically transferred to the state return, turbotax is telling me I owe state tax in NJ for this income. The software does not let me delete this income, so I have no way to certify that this income is not taxable in NJ.

How can I file correctly? This concerns my refund as the extra taxable income is increasing my taxes. One possible way may be to add additional state income not reported in the federal return, and claim this income as negative the amount not taxable in NJ. Is this allowed or correct?

Thank you.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
KrisD15
Expert Alumni

1042-S from NJ Fellowship - not taxable in state but turbotax registers it as taxable income

Exception code 15 means you are not subject to the Chapter 4 withholding of 30%. 

I see nothing to suggest the income, if not used for education expenses, would be non-taxable for the State of New Jersey.

Here is a link about Code 15.