turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

maglib
Level 11

1041 for Trust after death became irrevocable K-1's Many questions

I'm new at this so please be kind.  If you can answer any portion of all my questions please comment as over 45 people looked already and no @experts have responded. I am the Trustee but, not a beneficiary of the following:

My aunt had a Revocable Trust established in 2017 , she passed away in 4/2023. I filed her personal tax return for all income already and she owes no taxes.

I got a EIN number and all assets of the Trusts including her home were transferred to the new irrevocable Trust. The home was sold in 2023.

The beneficiaries are 45%, 10%, 15%, 15%, 15% originally.

-the 45% and the 10% beneficiaries withdrew majority of their principal in  12/2023 other than some remaining for expenses for taxes and other costs of the estate and some future maturing bonds so they now own only a small portion of remaining assets. They had no interest in keeping it under Trust protection and Trustee (me) had full flexibility and they did not want to listen to my tax advice...

-we want the TRUST to pay all taxes and expenses or to pick and choose as there is complete flexibility to the Trustee on distributions which makes it complex.

-The plan is for the Trust to continue in perpetuity for the three beneficiaries who are 15% each which once all accounting is done, they will have 33.33% each as the 45 and 10% beneficiaries signed their rights and took almost all their distributions. there will be a final distribution in 2024 for the original 45% and 10% owners once we know the final bills and debts of the Trust and some tbills matured.