turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Where to enter cost of goods to offset consignment store 1099-Misc Lines 3 'Other Income'

So, cleaned out my closet, and got a 1099-Misc, but can't figure out where in TT to offset the income as reported in the 1099-Misc with my original purchase cost.

Does anyone know exactly the path to find this?  This is my first time with this, so I'm a little confused.

Thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
KrisD15
Expert Alumni

Where to enter cost of goods to offset consignment store 1099-Misc Lines 3 'Other Income'

After you enter the 1099-MISC and answer

No, not like work

No, not intent to make money

Only received this one tax year

The income should show on your Schedule 1 line 8z

Next, go back to Income

Less Common Income

Miscellaneous Income, 1099-A, 1099-C     START or UPDATE

Scroll down to "Other reportable income"   START or UPDATE

Select "Yes" for "Any Other Taxable Income?"

Type a description such as "Personal items sold reported on 1099-MISC" 

Enter the same amount as the 1099-MISC as a negative number (put a - in front of the number)

(Note: DO NOT ENTER A LARGER NEGATIVE NUMBER THAN WHAT WAS REPORTED ON THE 1099-MISC You cannot take a loss on the sale of personal items)

Finish this interview

The amount on the 1099-MISC as well as a negating amount will both be reported on Schedule 1 line 8 to result in zero income. 

@Hurricane150  

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

12 Replies