Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Where is my tax home?

I was researching tax tips and I was curious about deducting meal expenses. Are they only deductible when your work takes you a reasonable distance from your “tax home”? As a 1099 delivery driver, I drive from my home to a terminal 20 miles away. That’s where i pick up all my packages. However, the area I deliver to is 80-100 miles north of the terminal! Am I to figure my terminal is my main place of business, my tax home, and the areas my deliveries take me to is considered a reasonable distance for meals to be deductible?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies

Where is my tax home?

You are not "traveling" since you are not away from home substantially longer than an ordinary day's work.  So the fact that you travel 100 miles away from home each day doesn't matter.   Meals are not deductible expenses.

https://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc511

"You're traveling away from home if your duties require you to be away from the general area of your tax home for a period substantially longer than an ordinary day's work, and you need to get sleep or rest to meet the demands of your work while away." 

Also note that your 'deductible travel miles" do NOT include the distance from your home to the terminal or from the last drop off to your home at the end of the day.  THose are considered "commuting miles". 

Where is my tax home?