Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

What is the amount of property sales amount can I donate to 501c3 to offset how much I pay federal?

I sold a single family rental in Colorado in 2022. I am a resident of Colorado. I need some insight as to any information about balancing the capital gains amount of $273k gain I can put towards a 501c3.

I have a guess that the tax owed is in the ballpark of $50k. Can I donate all of that to charity and not pay the fed?

Probably a pipe dream but if I have to pay then I would like to add a little power to my outgoing cash flow.

I thought I would ask this question before I start preparing and entering for 2022 which would take an amount of time that would detract from any expedient answer here.

Thank you for any advice, guidance or leadership in this issue.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies

What is the amount of property sales amount can I donate to 501c3 to offset how much I pay federal?

You will get other answers here, but you can start with the information at the link below (IRS publication).

https://www.irs.gov/publications/p526#en_US_2021_publink1000229756

If I understand correctly you have already sold or will sell your property and incurred a large capital gain. You can’t just donate that gain to charity and not pay tax on the gain. You first pay taxes on the gain. Then if you want to donate the 273K amount to charity, your tax savings is that amount times your marginal tax rate assuming that you itemize. 

even if you donate the cash proceeds to charity you'll still be subject to depreciation recapture and capital gains tax on the balance of the gain.