Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

chadb19

Vehicle Gain Loss Basis??

Im a Realtor, and this is my first time filing business taxes and the Gain Loos basis screen has me totally confused! I traded my 2015 Chevy for a new 2023 Nissan in Oct of 2022. They gave me 20K on the trade-in towards the 52K nissan. I used my Chevy and now new Nissan for about 66% for business with an original purchase price for the Chevy of 36K back in 2015. Can someone tell me what in the world I enter for "Basis for gain/ loss" and "Basis for AMT gain/loss" fields. I am using the standard deduction method. This is so confusing! 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
GeorgeM777
Expert Alumni

Your cost basis is your purchase price minus depreciation you have taken on the vehicle.  You received $20,000 on the trade-in but it is not clear at this point whether you have a gain or loss on the Chevy.  If there is a loss, your loss is limited to the business use percentage. If you had the Chevy entered into TurboTax as a vehicle for past years, you will already have put in the purchase price.  TurboTax will deduct the depreciation and figure the loss or gain. If you don't have the vehicle in TurboTax you must enter it in before you can dispose of it.