Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

tax on foreign exercised stock options

I am a US citizen resident in USA employed by a foreign entity. I was allotted stock options in 2022 which I exercised in 2023. At the time of exercise, the employer deducted tax based on fair market value and exercise price. My W2 excludes this notional income. Do I need to add this income while filing taxes? Under what category? And how do I report the taxes they deducted before exercising the stock. Note that I have not sold the stock so this is about income tax and not capital gains if that arises on sale, which I know I will have to pay taxes at the time of sale. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
pk
Level 15
Level 15

@Tj2008 , thank you for allowing me to be help.  If your query has been answered , please accept this answer so the thread will close.   You will still be able to add to it 

Is there more I can do for you ?

pk

View solution in original post

7 Replies
pk
Level 15
Level 15

@Tj2008 , I am missing something here -- are you saying that 

(a) if the FMV of the stock at the time of exercising the option was say  $10 and your option to buy was guaranteed at $5, your employer  included  $5 ( the diff between option and FMV)  in your W-2  as income and withheld  taxes  on that   ( Fed, State + Fica ) 

Or

(b) with the same  FMV and Option prices, the employer reported  the FMV price and included that  in W-2  and withheld taxes accordingly

Or

(c) Employer reported none of the above