Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Self-Employed: How to deduct my computer purchase?

Hi all, 

I'm a bit confused about how to deduct the value for a computer I purchased in 2021.

I received a 1099-NEC, because for a period of time, I was technically employed as an independent contractor. I purchased a new computer that I used (and still use, though I am no longer a 1099 employee at my company) for my work and I would like to deduct that expense.  I first tried to enter it as an asset under Section 179, but was presented with the option to enter it as an expense instead--I believe this is the De Minimis Safe Harbor deduction, where I would enter it under Miscellaneous expenses.

I've never done this before and so I want to make sure I'm not doing something wrong. Under Section 179, you are able to enter a percentage breakdown of how much an asset was used for your business, which I would do because the computer was only used for 50-60% business. Do I need to do this for the De Minimis? I didn't see the option to and entered the full value of the computer. However, the issue then is that the value of the computer exceeds my 1099-NEC earnings, so I was then asked during the review to clarify the "Investment at risk" boxes, which I am totally unfamiliar with. 

I'd appreciate any guidance on how to best deduct the cost, or some of the cost, of the computer. Please let me know if I can clarify anything so you can better assist me! Thank you. 

Jesse 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

@MaryK4 you were so helpful last year! I'd appreciate your guidance again.

PatriciaV
Expert Alumni