Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cmay2ck

Scholarship stipend

I received $13967 (W2) in summer wages and $26000 (1099-Misc) in a scholarship stipend (for living expenses as we are not allowed to work during the school year if we accept this scholarship program). 1098T says 55282 box 1 "payments received" and $55767 in box 5 (scholarships). According to the 2023 tax charts, making between 39950 and 40000 would be a tax liability of $4577.  I paid $1319.31 through my summer job, so my liability should be $3258 but Turbo Tax is saying I owe $5557. And smart check review is asking me questions like Principal Business Code, business name, etc. I am a full time student. This is scholarship income, not a personal business. What am I doing wrong? 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
SharonD007
Expert Alumni

Scholarship stipend

The 1099-MISC that you entered should be reported as "OTHER INCOME" not self-employment income or business income.  To fix your issue, first delete the 1099-MISC that you already entered.  Follow the steps below to delete it and enter in the correct area:

1. Launch TurboTax
  2. Select Wages & Income 
  3. Scroll down to Self-employment Income and select Review (If it says Start, skip this)
  4. Select the trash can by 1099-MISC that you entered earlier
  5. Confirm that you want to delete and select Done

Next, you will enter your 1099-MISC as Other Common Income:

1. Scroll down to Other Common Income
  2. Select Start or Revisit 1099-MISC and add 1099-MISC
  3.  Enter your 1099-MISC and select Continue
  4. Enter Stipend for the description and Continue
  5. Select None of these apply on the next screen