turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Royalties or Business

Hello,

I have rental properties from out of state and have hired a management company to take care of this for me.  There are total of 3 units.  The management property sends me a 1099-MISC that contains the income at the end of the year.  These properties are owned by 2 different LLC.  2 unit in 1 LLC, and the other unit in another LLC.  Both LLC are single member (myself and my wife)

i have been using turbotax for 3 years now (Home and Business version) and i have been entering it in the Rental and Royalties section. 

Question 1) I want to clarify, if i am suppose to enter these rentals in teh rental royalties section, or am i suppose to enter it as business income? I have been entering it in as rental royalties and not business income becuase that screen looks like its for people who really own a business and not just LLC with rental properties.

Question 2) i noticed that for the aggregated LLC that has 2 rental units - at the end of entering these income/expenses in teh royalties section - it shows me that i qualified for QBI Deduction.  However it doesnt show me any QBI Deduction for the other LLC that has 1 unit.  WHy is that? How do i also take a QBI Deduction for this single unit in the LLC?

Thanks,

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

Royalties or Business

about the only time rental real estate is entered on schedule C is when you provide significant services to your tenants (like a B&B)  who rent for the short term generally 7 days or less.  this doesn't mean other rentals can't be a business for purposes of the QBI deduction.