turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

dgdyif94
Returning Member

Resident alien with 1042-S form

As an international student, I hold a J1 visa and commenced my contract at Stanford University in September 2021, marking my initial employment in the USA. Up until August 2023, I qualified for tax exemption under the Italy-US tax treaty, for which I submitted a Form 8233, "Exemption From Withholding on Compensation for Independent (and Certain Dependent) Personal Services of a Nonresident Alien Individual."

Consequently, I received a  Form1042-S ("Foreign person US source income subject to withholding") covering the period from January to September 2023. The form specifies my tax rate as 0%, with exemption code 3a as 04 and exemption code 4a as 16.

In previous years, I successfully utilized Springtax for my tax filings, which included the inclusion of my 1042-S form. However, this year I encountered an issue: Springtax is recommending that I use TurboTax due to my classification as a resident tax alien.

It appears that TurboTax does not support the inclusion of the 1042-S form. Consequently, I am seeking guidance on how to proceed with submitting my 1042-S form using TurboTax, or if there is an alternative method to ensure the accurate filing of my taxes.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies
pk
Level 15
Level 15

@dgdyif94 , I need to read up US-Italy tax treaty just to refresh my memory.

But in the meantime can you  clarify what you mean by "student" and " contract with Stanford Univ" ---- J-1  recipient can be "student/ trainee" or "teacher/researcher" --- and the tax treatments are different .  Which are you ? or was there  a change  during 2021 ?