Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

report income in China

I am a resident alien with f1 student, now I'm moving back to China and will not return to US recently, my question is:

1. for tax year 2019, can I use turbotax to do the tax report after I get back to China, and what documents will be needed?

2. I will have an income in China, which is salary, so do I have to report this part in the future, and what kind of documents will be provided for this part of income?

3. for how long will my status be considered as resident alien?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
pk
Level 15
Level 15

report income in China

@hyc12908 , having gone through the above , what I get is that  (a) you came to the USA in 2012 under F-1 visa; (b) once the  5 year exemption period was over  , you filed regular 1040 returns for 2017 and 2018 i.e. you were treated as a Resident Alien for tax purposes; (c) you are still on F-1 ;  (d) you plan to return to your home country ( China ) in 2019

The question now is  what are the tax implications when you return to China ?

Assuming that  "became a resident alien "  means  "Resident Alien for Tax purposes "  and not a Green Card holder,   once you leave the USA ( i.e. close out your F-1 visa )  you immediately  become a Non-Resident Alien.  Thereafter your only US tax filing requirement is on US sourced.connected income and at the  Non-Resident flat rate  -- No Social Security and Medicare  contributions for federal purposes  -- ditto for  State purposes.  These filings  will require  1040-NR which is not supported by TurboTax software.