Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Rental and Personal Use Limiting Loss

I have been renting condos and also using them for over 20 years.  I have always understood the tax code to be that I cannot take a loss on a rental property if I use that property for personal use more then 14 days per year.  Turbo Tax has always acted that way as well.   

This year I had two properties that I owned and rented this way.  One property was new so it was only owned for 156 days this year.   

Property 1:

Owned:  365 days

Rented:   274 days

Used:      90 Days

Property 2:

Owned    156 Days

Rented:    102 Days

Used:          46 Days

When I enter the info using the interview it limits my losses to 0.   This is what I expect to happen.

I then went back and added some expenses I forgot during the interview.

Now it is saying I have a loss.   I opened a support case and the Turbo Tax support person said it looks like a bug and submitted it to another group at Intuit.   They responded saying it was not a bug and here is there response:

Read the rules for passive losses in IRS Publication 527 Residential Rental Property, starting a page 13 - https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p527.pdf#page=13

I asked if they would be responsible if the IRS disagreed and they said no it is my responsibility.

So I believe Turbo Tax is doing this wrong and support is saying it is done correct and I do not know how to force Turbo Tax to do it the way I believe is correct.

Can anyone help by explaining why I might be allowed a loss or suggest how I can enter it correctly?

Thanks! 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies