Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

dadmanx4
Returning Member

Question on deduction by author of new books to 501c3

I am an author who prints and drop ships new books to a 501c3 that takes the books and distributes them as part of their mission.  The donated books are not resold.  These books are also available at retail online and have a verifiable retail value they sell at.  I've been going over the IRS documentation, but am finding it a bit confusing as to what my valuation should be since the donated items are not for resale, but are indeed used for charitable distribution.  I haven't been able to find any answers that address my specific scenario, and don't want to enter things incorrectly.  A point int the right direction would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply

Question on deduction by author of new books to 501c3

Your valuation is your cost basis.  Look at publication 526 under "Ordinary income property."

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p526.pdf

Generally, that means the cost you paid to have the books printed.  If there are adjustments for other costs (such as research expenses or other writing expenses) I don't know how to make those calculations and you likely should see a professional.