turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Married Filing seperately - Tax Treaty deduction

I'm a resident alien filing Form1040, while my spouse is a non-resident alien (F1 international student). We are filing separately. I'm claiming itemized tax deductions for home ownership/property taxes. According to IRS rules, both me and my spouse should use itemized deductions.

As a F-1 student, my wife can claim tax deduction under US-India tax treaty benefit. Will this be treated as standard deduction? Is she allowed to do this?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
DaveF1006
Expert Alumni

No. As an F1 student, she would need to file a 1040 NR return, which does not allow a standard deduction. As far as claiming a foreign tax credit on income earned in India, since she would be filing a 1040 NR, this income would not be required to be filed on a 1040 NR thus a Foreign Tax Credit would not be claimed if that is the deduction you are referring to under the US/India treaty.

Turbo Tax does not prepare 1040 NR returns but our affiliate at Sprint Tax does. Contact them for further information regarding the filing of a 1040 NR return.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
pk
Level 15
Level 15

@academicsheep , having read through your post and  answer by my colleague @DaveF1006  ( and agreeing), I would like to draw attention to a few things: