Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

hsliying

Is Form 8582 amendable?

I am a real estate professional and fill jointly with my husband. For years, my accountant only treat my rental properties with unlimited rental loss deduction. He restricted my husband's properties by the Form 8582. I didn't find out until this year that the rental loss of my husband's properties can also be fully deducted as long as the total loss is less than $25k. So we have the correct rental loss deducted this year... My questions is, could we do an amendment to remove the PAL for the past 3 years, or it is an irrevocable option that we have to wait to recover the loss until the day we sell the property?

TIA!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
PaulaM
Expert Alumni

Is Form 8582 amendable?

You can amend but be aware that the exception for deducting the $25k against non-passive income phases out for married filing joint modified adjusted gross incomes between $100k - $150k. After 150k, the is no deduction allowed and losses carryover to future years or when you sell the property. 

IRS Pub 527

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
hsliying

Is Form 8582 amendable?