turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I own a foreign property (house) and parents live in it. How do I claim for interest and depreciation from this year on ?

Hi, I am a resident alien for the last 3yrs and I have a foreign property (own house - single family home, not an apartment) in which my parents have been living for the last 10yrs or so (renting). That's my second home as primary is in US and has no mortgage. I missed filing/declaring that foreign prop and claiming income & depreciation in the last 3yrs since I got the green card. I planning to streamline it going forward.

Given this situation, my questions are -

- How do I start it now and cover the last 3yrs? what all info is required ? Or can I only do last year ?

- In which section of IRS would I file it in Turbo tax? What additional forms are needed to submitted ?

- Are there any proofs to be submitted like monthly rental income receipts (or bank statements) with tax filing ?

- Do I have to notarize any of those proofs before submitting ? 

- Does Turbo tax Premier suffice to do this ?

Appreciate some guidance on this.. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies
DaveF1006
Expert Alumni

I own a foreign property (house) and parents live in it. How do I claim for interest and depreciation from this year on ?

To clarify, are your parents renting the home from you and you receive income from them?

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

YES, they are ! 

DaveF1006
Expert Alumni

To clarify further, did you file a return for years 2021 & 2022?