Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

feltet5

I'm a nurse, can i deduct my mileage back and forth from work

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
HelenaC

If the only work-related use of your car is commuting back and forth between your home and main workplace, do not enter any vehicle mileage or expenses. The IRS doesn't let employees deduct commuting costs.

You're allowed to deduct commuting expenses between multiple job sites during the same day. For example, if you go directly from your day job to your evening job, you can deduct the commute between those 2 job sites. But if you first go home and then leave to go to your second job, that can't be deducted.

If you travel to and from a temporary work location (where your assignment is expected to last no more than 1 year) outside your metropolitan area, you can claim commuting expenses. You can also claim commuting expenses to and from a temporary work site, regardless of location, as long as your main workplace is elsewhere.

You can only deduct mileage if you keep a written log of your miles otherwise you can't deduct mileage. Per IRS, you have to have adequate evidence. See https://www.irs.gov/publications/p463/ch05.html .

The IRS considers adequate evidence as a log of  "who, what, when, and where" which may include the following:

• The cost of the car and any improvements,
  • The date you started using it for business,
  • The mileage for each business use,
  • The total miles for the year.
  • Date of the expense.
  • Your business destination.
  • Business purpose for the expense. 

If you are self-employed (Schedule C), enter/edit your vehicle's mileage: