Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I lived in the US from Jan 2017 to May 2019 on a J1 visa, then moved to the UK. I'm a resident (for taxes) in 2019, but do I have to report foreign income as a J1 visa?

I'm from Brazil, and am in the UK on a Tier 2 working visa. I will not return to the US (to live/work) in a foreseeable future.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
KarenJ2
Expert Alumni

I lived in the US from Jan 2017 to May 2019 on a J1 visa, then moved to the UK. I'm a resident (for taxes) in 2019, but do I have to report foreign income as a J1 visa?

If you were a J1 Scholar and only considered a nonresident for 2 years (2017 and 2018) , you would start counting your US days of presence from January 1, 2019.  As you left the US in May, you were not in the US 183 days in 2019, so you would be considered a nonresident in 2019.

TurboTax does not support nonresident tax returns.  We suggest you contact Sprintax  as they can help you with nonresident filing.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

In 2017 I was a nonresident and filled taxes with sprintax but that was not the case for 2018: I filled as a resident for tax purposes. Would the same apply?

KarenJ2
Expert Alumni