Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I have a $1770 capital loss carryover from 2021. I lived in two states, OR and CA in 2022. Can I claim this on both state tax returns?

I was a resident of Oregon in 2021 when the tax loss occurred.  I filed an Oregon state tax return last year.

I moved to California in February 2022.  It seems like I can claim this full amount on both state tax returns for 2022.  Is that right?  My wages and interests and dividends are split.  

Oregon says (and part (b) applies to me since I was a resident there in 2021 when the loss occurred): 
OAR [phone number removed] - Application of Capital Losses and Capital Loss Carryforwards — Oregon A...

Rule [phone number removed]
Application of Capital Losses and Capital Loss Carryforwards

(1) Part-year resident and nonresident returns.

(a) A nonresident is allowed a capital loss or capital loss carryforward on the Oregon return when attributable to Oregon sources.

(b) A part-year resident is allowed a capital loss or capital loss carryforward on the Oregon return if the loss was incurred while a nonresident and is attributable to Oregon sources or if the loss was incurred while a resident.

(c) The amount of the capital loss or capital loss carryforward that is not attributable to Oregon sources may not be included as Oregon taxable income on the Oregon tax return. The capital loss or capital loss carryforward not attributable to Oregon sources cannot be used to reduce a capital gain attributable to Oregon sources.

California seems to allow you to also take the full capital loss carryforward.  2022 Instructions for California Schedule D (540) | FTB.ca.gov

Line 6 – California capital loss carryover from 2021