Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am an independent registered nurse contractor with a 1099-misc. I was able to enter my mileage. Where do I enter deductions for RN license, continuing education, scrubs

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DS30

I am an independent registered nurse contractor with a 1099-misc. I was able to enter my mileage. Where do I enter deductions for RN license, continuing education, scrubs

Yes, you will be able to deduct a portion of your vehicle miles that relate to your business use of your vehicle.

Please refer to this IRS link for more information of transportation costs related to business expenses:

https://www.irs.gov/publications/p463/ch04.html.

If you are self-employed and are considered an independent contractor, you will be able to deduct these business expenses under the business section in TurboTax.

Please refer to this IRS link for more information about business expenses:

https://www.irs.gov/publications/p334/ch08.html#en_US_2014_publink1000313521

To enter business income and related expenses into TurboTax Online or Desktop in TurboTax Home and Business, please follow these steps:

1. Once you are in your tax return, click on the “Business"” tab
  2. Next click on “I’ll choose what I work on” (jump to full list)
  3. Scroll down the screen until to come to the section “Business Income and Expense
  4. Choose “Profit or Loss from Business ” and select start/revisit/update.
  5. If your business is already listed, choose to "edit"
  6.  You will eventually get to a screen titled "Your () Business"
  7. Scroll down to Business Expenses and select "Other Common Business Expenses". (screenshot #1)