Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

home office deduction

Dear TurboTax Community,

I have a question about home office deduction and hope someone with expertise can help me. I am an independent consultant who receives income via 1099. My wife works for a company in Boston and receives income via W2.  We both live and work from home in California. In the past, I only claim one office for myself with the TurboTax Home and Office version.  I am now semi-retired and my income is low, I understand home office deduction is only for 35% of the income. In this case, shall I also claim another office for my wife since she is not retired and has a much higher income? Can someone receive the W2 claim home office? I know Turbo Tax Hone and Biz asks if the home office is shared with another person. Is this the option to use for this purpose?  Is there a better option n in TurboTax H&B for someone with W2 to claim a home office? 

Thank you in advance for any suggestions and help.

Pang Ho 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies
AnnetteB6
Expert Alumni

home office deduction

For tax years 2018 through 2025, there is not an option for a W-2 employee to claim home office expense on their Federal return.  That would be part of employee business expense, which was suspended by the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act passed in 2017.