turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Home Mortgage Interest Worksheet Shows Bank Data I Did NOT Input

I input my home mortgage interest and real estate taxes.

I did NOT input any mortgage balance.

How did the home mortgage interest worksheet get my mortgage balance without my input?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies
RobertB4444
Expert Alumni

Is it possible that you input the number last year?  It could have carried over.

@drosen 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Thank you for your response.

No, could not be a carryover because this is my first year using TurboTax. I purposely input the minimum information necessary to run the return in order to protect my privacy as much as possible. That is why I am alarmed to see that the mortgage worksheet had information that I did not provide.

Did TurboTax use my social security number to pull that information from my bank or my credit report?

Okay, so you didn't enter the ending balance when entering the 1098 but are you sure that you didn't enter the mortgage balance on another screen? Turbo Tax does ask for the ending balance when the the beginning balance you did enter on the 1098 page is more than $750 K and the the origination date is after Dec 15, 2017 or when the interest deduction may be limited. Is it possible that you entered the balance under one of these conditions?

Thanks for your thoughts, but no, I did not enter the mortgage balance anywhere (on purpose) and the program went ahead and properly used the mortgage interest I entered for schedule A without requiring any additional information.