Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

H1B visa: Do I have to pay taxes on equity encashed from a company based abroad?

Hello,

I am an Indian citizen and have been working as a Research Scientist on an H1B (lottery exempt) visa at a US university since November 2023. Prior to this, I was on a J-1 visa (Research Scholar) at a national lab in the US starting in 2018.

Before moving to the US, I was a consultant at a startup in Singapore and was awarded equity in the company. The equity vested over three years, and I am now eligible to cash it out. I would like to transfer the proceeds to my US bank account.

Since Singapore does not tax capital gains, I do not owe any taxes on this equity there.

I would like to know if I need to pay taxes on this equity in the US. If so, how should I report it to the IRS? Additionally, is receiving such income legal given my current H1B visa status? I am expecting to receive permanent residency in the US later this year. Should I wait to receive my green card before transferring the equity money from Singapore to my US bank account?

Regards,
RD

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

19 Replies

H1B visa: Do I have to pay taxes on equity encashed from a company based abroad?

Duplicate post. Please post your question only once.

It is not a duplicate question. This question is about capital gains. The other question is about royalties.

Sorry! I will page Champ @pk for your questions. Please check back later.

pk
Level 15
Level 15

@roalddahl14  what I gather  from your post is that :

(a) you are a Resident Alien for tax purposes  --- you file your return on form 1040 ( supported by TurboTax ) and are taxed on your world income