Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

crladerer

Graduated in May lived at home thru Oct. Took HDHP and HSA thru job in July. Dad is claiming me, how do I fill out 8889 so my dad can still claim me?

My parents financially supported me most of the year, as I was a student for the first 5 months, and I lived at home through October. I do however have my own insurance and HSA plan as of July. I understand I would need to remove HSA contributions if my dad wants to claim me. But when we attempted to fill out form 8889 saying we would do such, it kept giving message that HDHP month plans were incorrect and would not let us pass federal review. How do I go about filling out this form, do I need to contact HSA provider? Why won't turbotax let me edit form?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
BillM223
Expert Alumni

Graduated in May lived at home thru Oct. Took HDHP and HSA thru job in July. Dad is claiming me, how do I fill out 8889 so my dad can still claim me?

"I understand I would need to remove HSA contributions if my dad wants to claim me. "

No, the question is whether or not your dad could claim you. The prohibition against contributing to an HSA is based on whether or not you could be claimed as a dependent, not whether or not you actually are claimed as a dependent.

Look at the text on Dependents starting on page 26 in IRS Pub 17. You need to review the rules for a Qualifying Child or a Qualifying Relative - do you meet either of those categories? You have not given us enough details on your situation for us to know.