Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Form 8283 Charitable Contributions: Gift or Purchase (Custodian Account Stock Donated)

Hi Folks, This is a really difficult question.  My dad was kind enough to put some stock in my name in the 80's in a custodial account.  i've been paying taxes on the dividends for 40 years.  i donated that stock to a charity in 2023.  My questions are the following:

(1)  Form 8283 asks "How acquired by donor"   Was this acquired via gift or purchase?

(2)  If gift, turbotax does not give me the option of entering gift, only purchase.  How do i enter it as a gift?

(3)  Is my deduction the value of the stock when donated or the value of the stock when my dad bought it in my name back in the 80s?

Thank you so much for your help.  i've asked some difficult questions in the past and so grateful for the help i've received.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

Form 8283 Charitable Contributions: Gift or Purchase (Custodian Account Stock Donated)

(1)  Form 8283 asks "How acquired by donor"   Was this acquired via gift or purchase? you say it was gifted to you

(2)  If gift, turbotax does not give me the option of entering gift, only purchase.  How do i enter it as a gift?

Not sure what you are doing but there should be a drop-down box that lets you select purchase, gift, inheritance, exchange, or created. 

(3)  Is my deduction the value of the stock when donated or the value of the stock when my dad bought it in my name back in the 80s. see below.  also, if restrictions are imposed, FMV might not be appropriate 

Turbotax seems to have questions or remarks that seem inconsistent since you are contributing Long-term Capital gain property