Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

davmill1015
Returning Member

Form 2555 - Foreign Housing Exclusion location countries not listed under drop down selections

In the online (cloud-based) version of TT, Form 2555 Line 29b, the Philippines is not available as an option.  There is also no option for "All Other Countries" in first (A-L) or second (M-Z) country drop down list.   I have been filing online for several years using TT and have always been able to select the proper country (Philippines), but for tax year 2023, it is no longer an option.

I note on the 2023 Instructions for Form 2555 (Instructions for Form 2555 (2023) | Internal Revenue Service (irs.gov)) the Philippines and many other countries are NOT listed and the IRS states "If the location in which you incurred housing expenses is not listed in the table, and the number of days in your qualifying period is 365, enter $36,000 on line 29b.", which is 30% of the Foreign Earned Income exclusion ($120,000).  

The problem is TT online does not have an "All Other Countries" option and is likely pulling in the list of available countries directly from an IRS data source.  Solution:  TT online needs to include an option on Line 29b for "All Other Countries" defaulting to $36,000 for the limit on housing expenses, or an option to manually enter the country and the $36,000 figure.  While I can certainly select "Angola - All Other" or some other country as a workaround, my concern is a mismatch between the country selected and the actual country the housing expenses were incurred.  This may allow the e-file to go through but may cause problems with IRS validation.  

Can this please be shared ASAP with TT support to implement this seemingly simple fix?

Thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?