Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

stmichael6
Returning Member

Foreign wages and foreign tax credit calculation

I have been living and working outside the US for almost a year which is why I'm seeking to use the FTC instead of the FEIE. After figuring out entering info in the FTC section TurboTax finishes the section by stating that my FTC is a certain amount. What is this amount? it is significantly less than the actual taxes I paid in the country I live in. It's a few hundred dollars and I paid close to 12k in taxes. This is my first year at this job and have never had significant foreign income before. I was under the impression that FTC was a dollar for dollar credit, so why isn't my credit higher?  

Is it important to enter foreign income in TT's "wages & income" section? It seems like foreign income can't be entered was wages unless you elect the FEIE. I have only entered my foreign income in the FTC section.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
DaveF1006
Expert Alumni

No, it isn't a dollar for dollar credit. It sounds like you were given a small credit and the rest is a carryover or carryback. Here is how the credit is calculated.

The IRS limits the foreign tax credit you can claim to the lesser of the amount of foreign taxes paid or the U.S. tax liability on the foreign income. The excess limit is created when the U.S. taxes on that foreign income are greater than the foreign taxes paid.