Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Foreign tax credit for Canadian RSUs on TurboTax reduces the federal due only by 50%

Hi all,
I moved from Canada to the US back in 2022 and this is my first year reporting my US tax with TurboTax. After filling form 1116 on TurboTax, I only see ~50% of the paid Canadian taxes applied to the federal due. My understanding is that this should be 100%. FWIW, my foreign income was due to some vested stocks. The related income is already reported in my 2023 W2.

The way I did this was going through the foreign tax credit option. The first question was to select between foreign tax from income earned while working in another country, carryover or none. I went with the first option, as the third one results in ineligibility.

Next it moves forward to choosing the income type, which includes. among others, income re-sourced by treaty, foreign branch category income, and general category income. I understand the correct option here is foreign branch. Next goes to other gross income - Canada, where I enter the T4 amount in USD and then the taxes paid in USD, no expenses, adjustments, losses, AMT, etc. When everything is done, the federal due is only reduced by $14,695 based on $29560 of tax paid to Canada. I wonder if there is anything I'm missing in this process.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
AmyC
Expert Alumni

Foreign tax credit for Canadian RSUs on TurboTax reduces the federal due only by 50%