turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Foreign Tax Credit Carryovers

This is giving me a headache.  I have been doing ROTH conversions since 2022, so my income/taxes due are quite high.

In 2021 my foreign taxes paid on (general category) foreign income was $1712 of which I was able to use $955 as a foreign tax credit.  My 2021 c/o was $757.  Done by CPA.

In 2022, (starting ROTH conversions) my foreign taxes paid on (general category) foreign income was $1713 of which I was able to use $2192 as a foreign tax credit.  My 2022 c/o was $278.  Done by CPA.

In 2023, (continuing ROTH conversions) my foreign taxes paid on (general category) foreign income was $1749.  I am now using the online version of TurboTax Deluxe.

On the TurboTax Deluxe online page called [Foreign Tax Credit Carryovers] what do I enter in columns one and two of 2021 and 2022?

(depending on what I enter, I either get a foreign tax credit that's hundreds of dollars above what I paid and carryovered, or an amount that exactly covers all my credits and carryovers to date--$0 balance-- but generates an error message)  : TIA

Enter any foreign tax credit carryovers from a prior year.

Year Foreign Taxes Amount Used

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies

I'll page @dmertz. Please check back here later.

I'm actually using TurboTax Premium online.   TIA

the short way enter $278 from 2021 nothing for 2022

the long way enter gross FTC c/o from 2021 as 757 enter utilized as 479

under FTC rules current year is used before c/o's since your 2022 FTC utilized exceeded the 2022 FTC that arose you can leave that line blank or enter 1713 generated 1713 utilized.

pk
Level 15
Level 15