Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Sahils57
Returning Member

FICA not withheld

I'm on F1 visa and thought I was exempt from SS and Medicare, so I asked my employer to not withhold FICA from my paycheck, but it turns out that in 2019 I was a resident Alien and I owe FICA. I haven't filed taxes for 2019 yet. Do I need a new W-2 or will turbotax calculate what I owe the government for FICA?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies

FICA not withheld

You need to correct it with your employer, and pay your employer the amount that SHOULD have been withheld from your pay.

But before you do that, you might want to double-check that you do qualify as a Resident Alien.

Anonymous
Not applicable

FICA not withheld

If you are on F1 visa, you should be non resident alien.

Sahils57
Returning Member

FICA not withheld

I started school in 2014 as undergrad, graduated 2018 am on my OPT Extension. so after 2018 (5years) I think I qualify as resident alien. 

Would they have to issue a new W-2 then after I pay them. Not sure what the exact procedure is. 

@Anonymous @AmeliesUncle 

Anonymous
Not applicable

FICA not withheld

Anonymous
Not applicable

FICA not withheld

You can use this information:

When a Student is Not Exempt