Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

F1 working remotely for an US university

Hello,

I have been holding an F1 visa since 2019 and also working as a Research Assistant at Indiana University Bloomington. Due to my PhD research, I left the U.S. in April 2022 and have been working remotely for my advisor since then. Do I need to pay federal, Indiana state, and Monroe County taxes under these circumstances? Many thanks!

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies

Probably not.

You only pay state and city or county income tax if you are living or working in the state or county.  In this case, "living" means your physical location and also the location of your domicile, or permanent residence.  Domicile depends on facts and intent. There is no single factor that determines your domicile, it is a combination of facts and circumstances.  For example, if you bought a house in Indiana in 2019, you still own the house, and you plan to return to Indiana in the future, then you are probably domiciled there, even though you have been away for several years.  You don't say, but I suspect is it more likely that you are not domiciled in Indiana since 2022.  But only you know that for sure.  This is a reasonably good article on domicile.

https://ceritypartners.com/insights/domicile-vs-tax-residency-what-is-domicile-and-how-do-you-change...

If you are not a US citizen, green card holder or resident alien, you only pay tax on US-source income.  Your research salary is not considered US-source for this purpose, because you are actually doing the work out of the country, even though the employer is inside the US.

https://www.irs.gov/individuals/international-taxpayers/source-of-income-personal-service-income