Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

superdesi
Returning Member

Can I apply Unreimbursed Expenses on my Personal Taxes from my K-1 (S-Corp)

My business partner (S-Corp) is happy with his paid off car he has had for years and years and does not want a new one nor does he want to expense any vehicle's on the business.  Therefore I am stuck paying for my vehicle out of my taxed earned income from my k-1.

I also use my home as an office. The company pays for an office he uses which is next to his house but I don't.

I've read and heard if we had some sort of partnership agreement, we would be able to deduct Unreimbursed Expenses (UEP) such as auto mileage, and home office for 2020 returns on my personal.

I've also read, if I am an Officer of an S-Corp we are not permitted to do so. (My accountant said this too)

I am finding various different answers everywhere and in search of another opinion. Please help, thank you.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply

Can I apply Unreimbursed Expenses on my Personal Taxes from my K-1 (S-Corp)

You can't deduct unreimbursed car expenses on your form 1040, that deduction was eliminated in the tax reform of 2018.

You can be reimbursed by your business tax-free under an accountable plan.  See generally chapter 4 here.

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p463.pdf