turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

nbattey42
Returning Member

Wondering which state to file a state income tax in

I work as a fisheries observer, which means I receive my income from a company which subcontracts with the federal government in the form of a 1099-MISC. This company is based in Florida, but I live in a different state and do work in states other than my state of residence.

What this entails is me driving to where a fishing vessel is located, accompanying them on a trip out to sea (often out of the state of origin's waters), and returning, sometimes to a different port in a different state. I also do processing of paperwork and stuff at home, but my pay is a prorated amount of money per day at sea.

My question is: do I file taxes in my state of residence, the state where the fishing vessel leaves port, or the state that the observer company is based in?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
KathrynG3
Expert Alumni

It depends on which states. Typically, income is taxed in the resident state. Based on the state rules where the fishing vessel leaves port, there could be an additional filing requirement there and tax due. The resident state typically would give the taxpayer a credit for any tax already paid to another state. 

By carefully replying to the questions in TurboTax, the state details will be accurately captured.

For state information:

How do I file a part-year state return?

How do I file a nonresident state return?