turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

wadeo7

Utah Credit for Taxes Paid to Other States

I'm a resident of UT and will be working for a VA based company in VA for less than 6 months but will be in VA for the total duration of the assignment. After doing some research I found that Utah requires a TC-40S to be filed in order to get a credit for taxes paid to another state. Is this something that Turbo Tax does when filing in multiple states? Is there a way to avoid my income being double taxed up front so I don't have to wait for a return to get my credit? My employers New Hire onboarding process had me fill out a W-4 for both UT and VA. Is that really necessary if all my income from that assignment will be earned exclusive in VA?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
TomD8
Level 15

Your resident state of UT can tax ALL your income, regardless of where you earn it.

VA can tax you as a non-resident on your earnings from the portion of your work actually (physically) carried out from a location inside VA.

TurboTax can handle this common situation.

You'll file a non-resident VA tax return in addition to your home state UT tax return.

You'll be able to claim a credit on your UT tax return for the taxes you pay to VA, so you won't be double-taxed.

When you actually do your state returns, complete the non-resident state return before you do your home state return, so that the program can calculate and apply the "other state credit" correctly.

**Answers are correct to the best of my ability but do not constitute tax or legal advice.
Hal_Al
Level 15

Yes, TurboTax (TT) prepares and includes form TC-40S as part of your UT state tax return.