turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

padropjs

Two-state income. If I was a part resident of NY and CA, made <$500 in NY and the majority of my income in CA, do I need to file for NY?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
DS30

Two-state income. If I was a part resident of NY and CA, made <$500 in NY and the majority of my income in CA, do I need to file for NY?

Unfortunately yes you will need to file a part-year NY state income tax return if you have ANY amount of income (including NY sourced income) while a part-year resident of NY.

According to the NY Department of Revenue: You are required to file a NY part-year income tax return if you are a part-year resident with any income during your resident period or you had New York source income during your nonresident period and your New York adjusted gross income Federal amount column (Form IT-203, line 31) exceeds your New York standard deduction.

Some additional information about NY state income taxes:

NY taxes all the income reported when calculating NY state income taxes (whether resident, part-year resident or nonresident) but you will only be required to paid a portion of the total NY state income taxes calculated (your percentage of the total NY tax that relates to your NY source income only)