Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

TurboTax Not Allocating Properly for GA Non-resident Return?

I have a gain from liquidation of a limited partnership in Georgia. I am a resident of another state and was a passive investor in the partnership. Georgia Form 500, Schedule 3 requires allocation of income items between GA and non-GA sources. That includes pension benefits which, in my case, come from past employment not in GA. TurboTax is applying the Retirement Income Exclusion as fully applicable to my GA income even though Schedule 3 seems to require allocation of all income between GA and non-GA sources. Assigning it all to GA certainly gives a favorable result, but is that really in compliance with GA tax code?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
DaveF1006
Expert Alumni

I have prepared a mock return to see if  retirement income is reported on your Georgia Schedule 3 and then excluded.  I do not see that. The only income that is reported is an amount of a k1 that entered and included as Georgia income when I performed the income allocations in the preparation of the Georgia state return.

The only reason i can think of is that you did not allocate your pension distribution from Georgia properly. To do this, go to:

1. Your state tab in your Georgia return.
  2. Go to Georgia income and adjustments
  3. Scroll to your pensions/annuity and IRA distributions
  4. Allocate your entire pension amount to the other state
  5. I have a screenshot below that illustrates this.
  6. Also, check your GA return to make sure that you are reported as a Georgia non-resident.