Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

yavuzkal
Returning Member

Turbotax Filed My State tax Wrong NJ NY state taxes not considered.

I was filing my taxes for 2021 and thanks to Turbotax, I submitted a state tax that shows I owe tons of tax, although I paid it through another state.

The story is as follows;

I'm an NJ resident who works in NY.

Turbotax helped me file Federal and NJ taxes. I submit my taxes for both of those.

Federal tax return accepted and NJ tax is pending. I hope they will reject it. I already paid that amount to NY and my total state tax is right now almost nothing, compared to what TurboTax calculated.

Turbotax didn't bother to deduct the taxes I paid to NY and I only realized this when I went ahead and filed a state tax return for NY.

I'm not a tax expert but I like to do my thing on my own. 

Turbotax charged me for filing taxes but yet it doesn't check if I paid my state taxes or not.

Yes, I'm personally responsible and I should've checked it.

However, I want to spot a light on the fact that this is a paid product, and it should have popped and asked me to file a NY state tax before letting me file the state taxes.

Now my NJ state tax is pending and I'm hoping that they will reject it. Otherwise, I feel like I'm going to have to pay that tax and file for a return which is not something I'm happy to hear.

The biggest frustration is this:

I pay Turbotax extra to help me file my taxes instead of going to free tax filing sites.

Turbotax punishes me by not even answering my calls. 

I tried to reach out to them several times and I got nothing except robot call responses.

Honestly, things were way easier when I was filing my taxes with my accountant.

I don't think it's worth spending all those money on TurboTax and not even getting a proper response or feedback.